Linkerlady's Blog

This site goes as far as your imagination…

Locksmith Certifications

Image A Locksmith receives certification after passing a written exam. Currently, there are 36 categories on the exams but only 10 of them are required for the most basic locksmith certification. These 10 required categories include: codes and code equipment, cylinder servicing, key blank identification, key duplication, key impressioning, professional lock opening techniques, lockset functions, lockset servicing, basic master keying, and cabinet-furniture-mailbox locks. The other categories are specialties in locksmithing such as foreign and domestic cars, safes, and installation practices.

If you need a locksmith for a common purpose, such as helping you when you get locked out of your house or rekeying a lock, then the most basic locksmith certification will generally suffice. If you are dealing with a high security lock or new car locks, then you may need a master locksmith which specializes in your purpose.
Regardless of why you need a locksmith, it is important that you ask what certification he/she has and where the certification is from. You shouldn’t trust your locks with just anyone! By choosing a certified locksmith in your local area, you can trust that the job will be done correctly and you are getting an expert tradesman dedicated to the job.


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: